Day 153 – Aussie Pubs

One of the first things I ever noticed about Australia was the amount of pubs. Even the tiniest of towns, population double digits, will have at least one pub…sometimes more! Having traveled around the country, I’ve seen quite a few of them personally 🙂 I only wish I had a DSLR a few years ago. I have photographed several of my favorites, should start a collection of them. The thing I love the most about these establishments is the old fashioned authenticity they have maintained over the years. It’s as if time has stood still…and the stories they hold, just as amazing. In our travels, we heard many tales from the patrons of these old pubs.

Pubs aren’t only places you go for a cold beer either. They also serve a decent plate of food. It’s always the cheapest place to stop for a Chicken Parma and hot chips! As a matter of fact, it’s often the only place to eat in country towns.

We drive by these two pubs frequently, but today was the first time I’ve photographed them. Just a couple more for the collection.

4 thoughts on “Day 153 – Aussie Pubs

  1. hi cindy, love the colour of the sky. my family and i will be visiting australia again in november but unfortunately queensland is not in the itineraries.

  2. I love places like this, quaint with history. When we travel to different cities, we always check out the historic section. The little towns that have managed to stay in existance are the best places to visit. We enjoy the independent shops and restaurants, and the food is always so good. Our rule is: No chains allowed on our mini trips. I love these pictures, it looks so welcoming, makes me want to enter!

Leave a Reply

