Day 150 – Hazards of the trade

Yep, that’s my arm, jeez, the price I pay for this passion…

I bet they could make anti-venom out of my blood, considering all the times I’ve been stung or bitten by something this summer. I have to admit, this time was sort of my fault. I was intentionally placing myself within striking distance of these Paper Wasps for the sake of photography. Native Paper Wasps are very aggressive and readily defend their nests with powerful stings (displayed graciously by me above) that can cause severe reactions in some  people. Thankfully, as I’ve found out SEVERAL times this summer, I’m not one of those unlucky people.

Today was the only day I can honestly say I deserved to get stung. The other times have been completely unwarranted, at times when I’ve been gardening or hiking, minding my own business.

All in all, I hold no grudge. The way I see it, they’re simply defending their world. You know the saying, ‘You play with fire, you’re gonna get burned’. Notice the ‘war dance’ by the wasp in the second photo…he was warning me. It was my choice to not heed his warning.

13 thoughts on “Day 150 – Hazards of the trade

  1. Oh My God! You forgot yourself with your camera… But you did a great set, they are amazing photographs… Thank you dear Cindy, be careful for next time. Have a nice weekend, with my love, nia

  2. Ouch! You are one crazy woman! I was stung twice last year by a yellow jacket wasp on the palm of my hand and it was THE most painful thing I’ve experienced in a long, long time. Iced my hand for 8 hours and had no use of my hand for a full 24 hours. I’m not even allergic!!

    Be careful out there…some risks to ‘get the shot’ are simply not worth it.

    • Thank you so very much…that really means a lot to me that you enjoy them. I only have a Tamron 60mm macro. It does produce true macro quality at a ratio of 1:1, I just had to master the art of getting REALLY close to my subject…hence the reason I get stung sometimes 😉 I don’t mind though, I enjoy getting up close and personal to the critters, even if I’m not photographing them. I do have my sights set on some L series Canon lenses eventually, my wish list!

Leave a Reply

