Day 141 – Peek-a-boo

I was going to attempt to post something other than a bug today but this Mantis is just too beautiful to ignore. I had to spend the evening cleaning up the massive amount of gum leaves and bark (that fall from our forest of trees) and pulling weeds. It’s not a job that I necessarily love but one that makes me feel better after it’s done. The best part about this chore is that I run across heaps of little critters along the way. Unfortunately, they are usually the less desirable kinds…the kind that sting and bite. I get nailed by something almost every time.

This little beauty was a welcome sight. I just love the pink eyes and deep red on the arms. This was a great excuse to take a break!

9 thoughts on “Day 141 – Peek-a-boo

  1. I am so grateful for Australia’s diverse insect population, and for your camera! Pink and turquoise and green.. stunner! These shots, as well as your previous ones, have me looking at every insect differently.

Leave a Reply

