Day 96 – Footprint

I happened upon this footprint as I was on a short walk after work. Returning to work after a holiday is not always the easiest thing to do…especially when suffering from a minor case of jetlag. I was feeling very unmotivated and just a bit annoyed from the normal stress of work. Somedays I can envision a photo out of almost anything and get very excited at the prospect of snapping a really cool pic. Today just wasn’t one of those days. I actually didn’t see anything I wanted to take a picture of.

I walked right over top of this footprint without a second thought…at first. It’s almost like it took a couple of seconds to register in my brain what I had just seen. Now, I’m not saying there is anything spectacular about a footprint branded into concrete, for me it’s more about the timing. I just didn’t expect it. I stopped walking and took two steps back for a closer look…and in that moment, I took my one and only photo for the day. At first glance it may look like a footprint carved into the wet sand, by someone who was having a relaxing stroll on the beach. It is, however, a lonely footprint left in a concrete sidewalk…and my mind drifts off, creating stories of how and why someone left only one print at this particular spot in the sidewalk.

 

3 thoughts on “Day 96 – Footprint

Leave a Reply

